Freshman Boys Tryouts Announcement!

Freshman Boys Tryouts Announcement!

Rockford Heat will be partnering with Rockford 5-0 this Spring and Summer to bring the best Freshman(Current Grade Level) talent possible together on one team for the purpose of playing in top events and to maximize exposure to college coaches and scouts. The name of the Team will be 5-0/FVV Elite, John Penney will be the Coach, all practices will be at Auburn High School. The top two programs in Rockford are partnering together for one purpose-To help kids get to college! No other programs have the resume of college recruiting like Rockford Heat and Rockford 5-0! Tryouts for Freshman Boys will be held on March 6th from 7pm-9pm at Auburn High School in the Fieldhouse. For additional information, contact John Penney 815-871-4112 or Joe Danforth 815-815-299-2642. Pre Register today by sending your name, phone number, school, grade, and email address via email to john.penney or text 815-871-4112. Rockford Heat will have additional high school boys teams at all levels and tryouts for Rockford Heat teams will be March 10th.


Girls 8th National and High School Tryouts Announced!

Girls 8th National and High School Tryouts Announced!

Open Tryouts for Spring/Summer

8th National, 9th-11th Grade Girls AAU Teams

(Tryout Grades are based off the grade you are currently in)

We will be holding open tryouts for 9th-11th grade girls who are interested in playing competitive basketball on a traveling

AAU team. The 9th-11th grade teams will be playing competitive basketball while gaining exposure to college coaches and scouts in NCAA Certified Events.

March 2018 – July 2018

Where:​UW Health Sports Factory

305 S. Madison St., Rockford

When: Saturday Feb. 24th

6pm-8pm for 9th-11th Grades,

Please arrive 30 min early for check in.

2nd Tryout times will be held based on need.

If you are a High School Player still playing in the Post season and unable to attend tryouts, Contact John Penney.

Pre-registration by email is strongly encouraged(Not Mandatory), please send name, grade, and school.

Bring completed registration form to tryouts(found on website)

For More Info Contact: John Penney @ 815-871-4112

John.penney or

Heat Players Play In NIC 10 Freshman Season End Tourney!

Heat Players Play In NIC 10 Freshman Season End Tourney!

Congrats to East winning over Hononegah at the end of the season NIC 10 freshman tourney held yesterday at Boylan! It was a great game that came down to the wire with East pulling through in the end! Great job to all the present and future Heat players on both teams! Freshman tryouts start on March 6th for the FVV/5-0 tryout and the Heat tryout on March 10th.

See you all soon!

Thank You!

As the 2017 Spring/Summer/Fall/Winter(runs March 2017-Feb 2018) seasons come to an end for the Rockford Heat Boys and Girls Basketball Club, I would to take this time to thank all the coaches that put their time and effort into each and every one of the players this season. Most of these coaches have become very close friends of mine, and I can’t tell you how much time and energy they put towards the players in the program to help them reach their full potential. First I would like to start with the Boys side: Coaches Dave Buelow, Jake Rousch, Mike Jamerson, JC Coleman, Eric Calvert, Scott Britnell, Avery Johnson and Scott Wigton. On the Girls Side: Robert Bankes, Veto Santini, Cary Proper, Mike Jamerson, Jeff Fago, Chris Hare, Jesse Schiro, Bill Lavery, Dave Guse, Eric Calvert, Wendy Lambrigtsen, Scott Wigton, and the many assistant Coaches for all the teams. This year has been unprecedented in growth in numbers and collegiate athletes. As we grow, the Club will continue to learn from our mistakes and improve in the areas that have been weak.

Thank you to our Premier Sponsors: Painters District Council #30, Northwestern IL Building Trades, IBEW Local 364, Teamsters Local 325, Advanced Disposal, Winnebago County States Atty Joe Bruscato, and Rockford Lutheran High. With your help, Rockford Heat has helped athletes achieve over 4.1 million in college scholarships for our athletes to play college basketball while studying for their education.

If you would like to learn more on becoming a sponsor of the Rockford Heat, contact the Club via email at John.penney